Document Type

Blog Post

Publication Date



Four members of the Indiana Law community were honored Friday (September 23) with Distinguished Service Awards. Javier Becerra ’17; Shontrai Irving ’03; Laura Walda ’09; and Mark Wright ’89, received their respective awards during a moving ceremony in front of a standing-room only crowd in the DeLaney Moot Court Room, though circumstances prevented Walda and Wright from attending in person.

“These awards are especially meaningful and timely to all of us at the Law School because of our commitment to instilling public service in our students,” said Interim Dean Christiana Ochoa. “Every one of our students commits to an aspirational goal of 60 hours of pro bono service during their three years of law school, so it’s incredibly gratifying to recognize alumni who set such a great example for our students after they enter the legal profession.”